October 21, 2021


documenting the nigerian story…

PDP vows to fight as 4 senators dump party

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has vowed to retrieve seats of federal lawmakers who defected from it through litigation.

Four PDP senators – Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North), Sahabi Ya’u (Zamfara North), Lawal Hassan Anka (Zamfara West) and Hassan Muhammed Nasiha (Zamfara Central)—have dumped the party for the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The lawmakers, in separate letters to the Senate President Ahmad Lawan, attributed their resignation from the opposition party to internal crisis, tyranny and leadership failure within the PDP.

Senator Ya’u said the “endemic crisis that engulfed the Zamfara State chapter of the PDP” has negatively impacted the effective representation of his constituents.

Senator Nwaoboshi, in his resignation letter, said there was implosion within the party and accused its leadership of fostering tyranny, arbitrariness and intolerance.

But PDP’s National Publicity Secretary, Kola Ologbondiyan, denied the allegation of internal crisis or factionalisation levelled against the party by the defectors.

Speaking to reporters during a protest by PDP leadership against the nomination of Lauretta Onochie as INEC commissioner, Ologbondiyan said machinery was being put in place to retrieve seats of the defectors through litigation.

Senate President Lawan, in a remark, congratulated the new APC senators for their decision to move to the ruling party.

He urged his colleagues to respect the decisions of the senators who defected to the APC.