December 1, 2021


documenting the nigerian story…

Akinwunmi chairs Aisha Buhari Cup organizing committee

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) 1st Vice President, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi has been appointed as the chairman of the local organizing committee for the First Lady of Nigeria Invitational Women’s Tournament (Aisha Buhari Cup).

The committee is saddled with the responsibility of organizing a befitting tournament that will uphold the good name and image of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The invitational women’s tournament will be held from 14- 20 September in Lagos.

A nominee of the Lagos State Government will serve as Vice Chairman. Other members include Alhaji Ibrahim Gusau, Chairman of Chairmen and Member of the NFF Executive Committee. Another Member of the NFF Executive Committee and Chairman of the Nigeria Women Football League, Aisha Falode is Director of Organization, with Amina Daura, NFF’s Head of Women’s Football, as deputy director.

Hon. Ayo Hulayat Omidiran, AIG Umar Baba, Hon. Margaret Icheen, Mrs Chisom Ezeoke, Kemi Areola, Mr Ademola Olajire, Mrs Ufuoma McDermott, Ms Ese Okpomo, Yinka Olagbemiro and Kola Daniel are other members. The Secretary is Ruth David, NFF’s Ag. Director of Competitions.


Six of the best women football playing nations in Africa namely South Africa, Cameroun, Mali, Morocco, and Ghana will participate in the inaugural edition of the tournament.